Skip to main content

Congratulations to our 9 MS4 Students on receiving Senior Awards!

News Description

Matthew Eric Piraino Awards for Excellence in Infectious Disease

This award is to be given to a fourth-year medical student with an interest in infectious diseases. This year’s award is presented to Alexander Layden


Frank I. Marlowe, M.D. Award for Excellence in Otolaryngology

Frank Marlowe was a UPSOM graduate who went on to a long career in Otolaryngology in Philadelphia. He endowed this award because he discovered his love for Otolaryngology here at the University of Pittsburgh Otolaryngology program. The Marlowe award is dedicated to a student who has shown excellence in Otolaryngology Academic Achievement.

This year’s award is presented to Maryanna Owoc


Dr. Robert L. Willenkin Best Student in Anesthesiology Award

Presented to a senior student the Department of Anesthesiology deems to have performed at a superior level among their peers.

This year’s award is presented to Roger Tieu


Bernhard A. Goldmann Prize for Outstanding Performance in Dermatology

Established in 1955 in memory of Bernhard A. Goldmann. To be awarded annually to the outstanding senior in Dermatology.

This year’s award is presented to Paolo Vignali


Florence L. Marcus, M.D. Prize for Exemplifying the Principles of Family Practice

This prize is awarded to a senior student who best exemplifies the principles of Family Medicine. This year’s awardee provides an example of a clearly dedicated student who always has their patient’s best interests at heart. They have excellent interpersonal skills, listen well to their patients and sees to the heart of the person in all encounters. They are industrious, sensitive and ever eager to learn.

This year’s award is presented to Allison Butler


The F. Lorraine Bruni Awards in Geriatric Medicine

This award is meant to foster the philosophy and practice of geriatric medicine and reward the senior student who best exemplifies geriatric medicine.

This year’s awardee is Roger Tieu


The Michael J. Painter Award of Excellence in Child Neurology

Established in 2002 in recognition and appreciation of Dr. Michael J. Painter’s outstanding contribution to the teaching and mentoring of students.

This year’s awardee is Michael Granovetter


L.W. Earley, M.D. Memorial Prize for Excellence in Psychiatry

This award was established in 1970 in memory of Dr. L.W. Earley, to be awarded to that member of the senior class who best exemplifies the attitudes and behavior desirable in clinical psychiatrist.

This year’s awardee is Samuel Dienel


Western Pennsylvania Chapter of American College of Physicians Awards This award was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding performance and commitment to the practice of Internal Medicine.

This year’s awardees are Ansen Burr and Raphael Crum

Type of News