Student Committees

MSTP Student Committee

The MSTP Student Committee is the umbrella organization for all student-run activities within the MSTP. All MSTP students are members, with the chair being an elected position. The chair manages standing committees, organizes new committees as required, and assists subcommittees in their efforts. Given that MSTP students are important drivers of program improvements, the chair also advises students regarding a path that best satisfies the goals set forth by the MSTP; therefore, while individual students have unlimited access to the program administration, the Student Committee can serve as a unified student voice on the most important issues. The descriptions of some of the subcommittees are listed here. 

Student Admissions Committee

Students participating in the admissions subcommittee are divided into two groups. Senior students screen all incoming applications and help decide whether an admissions interview will be granted. Junior students, from various departments and stages of training, interview applicants during their visits to Pittsburgh.

Student interview evaluations are given the same weight as those of the faculty, and the student committee has a vote on the MSTP Admissions Committee. Thus, by contributing to the admissions process, students play an important role in shaping the future of the program. All committee materials and deliberations are confidential.

Student Hosting Committee

The MSTP students organize and provide hosts for the MSTP applicants who visit our campus for their initial interviews, as well as during their revisits to Pittsburgh. These students volunteer their time and residences to make it possible for our applicants to have a realistic exposure to our program. These students continue to communicate with the applicants by phone and e-mail, even after their visits, to provide advice and information that helps the candidates to decide whether the University of Pittsburgh/Carnegie Mellon University MSTP is the right program for them.

Student Mentoring Committee

Once a student has decided to join our MSTP community, we encourage them to begin learning about the city, the program, and research opportunities even before they begin. We try to identify existing students with similar interests who can assist our newest members in establishing themselves in Pittsburgh and in the academic community. New students can phone or e-mail their student mentors prior to arriving on campus and usually meet informally with them during their summer rotation prior to starting medical school. 

Annual Retreat

The annual retreat is a two-day, student-organized event usually held in August. It functions not only to introduce new students to the program, but also to provide a forum for scientific dialogue among faculty and students. Of course, it is also a much-anticipated, fun-filled event, including activities like guided whitewater rafting down the famous Youghiogheny River, a scavenger hunt, horseback riding, paint ball. poker games, campfire, and golfing. What me do next year hopefully will be up to you!

2018-2019 Student Leadership

Student Committee Chairpersons

Miranda Culley and Josh Wesalo

Alumni Relations and Residency Committee Chairperson

Roger Tieu

Correspondence Committee Chairperson

Tolani Olonisakin

Curriculum Committee Representatives 

Michael Granovetter, Laura Molina, Paolo Vignali and Hillary Wehry

Diversity Committee Chairperson

Ananya Mukundan

Ethics and Professionalism Committee Chairperson

Lloyd Harvey

Hosting Committee Chairperson

Jenna Gale and BaDoi Phan

Interviewing Committee

Chairperson: Gaelen Dwyer

Helene Altmann, Edgar Aranda-Michel, Ansen Burr, George Gabriel, Michael Granovetter, Bryan Hurtle, Adriana Johnson, Andrew Lamade, Alexander Layden, Laura Molina, Ananya Mukundan, Stephanie Myal, Maryanna Owoc, Eileen Nguyen, Oyin Dosunmu-Ogunbi, Joshua Tashman and Hillary Wehry

Med/Grad Transitions Committee

Elliot Collins

Peer Mentorship Committee Chairperson

Michael Granovetter

Recording Secretary

Neil Carleton

Retreat Committee Chairpersons

Edgar Aranda-Michel and Joshua Tashman

Screening Committee Chairpersons

Elliot Collins, Lloyd Harvey, Collen Judge, Jared Kopelman and Ryan Williamson

Second Look Committee Chairperson

Emma O'Leary

Student Health Advocacy Resource Program (SHARP) Representatives

Elliot Collins, Gaelen Dwyer and Rahilla Tarfa

Tech Committee Chairperson

Brian Liu

Welcome Committee Chairpersons

Raphael Crum, Ruby Holland and BaDoi Phan

Women in Science Committee Chairperson

Gaelen Dwyer, Maryanna Owoc and Amy Sentis

Workshop Committee Chairpersons

Ansen Burr and Sam Dienel